East Timor was colonized by Portugal in the 16th century and was known as Portuguese Timor until Portugal's decolonization of the country. In the late 1975s, East Timor declared its independence. Later that year it was invaded and occupied by Indonesia and in 1976 was declared Indonesia's 27th province. In 1999, following the United Nations-sponsored act of [...]
Read More